Stupid Dream is the fifth studio album by Porcupine Tree. Steven Wilson said the album deals with his own personal “insecurities and feelings” and “the usual singer-songwriter stuff”, because he believed the most relatable and affecting lyrics were from a personal point of view.

“When I was writing some of the songs of the album I was very much aware of this contradiction between being an artist, being a musician, trying to be creative and write songs and, then, at the point you finish an album, the music is finished, the creative side is finished, you then have to go out and sell and market and promote. And that’s like a completely different experience. It’s not a very creative process. It’s quite – in some ways – a cynical process going on having to sell your music. But you have to do it. I mean, if a modern musician is going to survive as a musician, you have to – in a sense – ‘prostitute yourself’ to try and sell your music and your art. And I was very much aware of that contradiction. If you think about that too much, it can drive you crazy, you know. It’s an absurd thing to be doing. That kind of led me thinking about when I was a teenager, when I was just starting out and I was interested in being a musician. And I think a lot of teenage kids have this dream of being pop stars, of being a professional musician. This ‘stupid dream’ of being famous and ‘life is a ball and everything is wonderful’. And, of course, actually the reality is that being a professional musician is a very hard work. It can be very heartbreaking, there’s a lot of disappointment, there’s a lot of hard work, there’s a lot of travelling.”



Steven Wilson – vocals, guitars, piano, samples, bass on “Baby Dream In Cellophane” and “Stranger By The Minute”
Richard Barbieri – analogue synthesizers, hammond organ, mellotron, piano on “Even Less”, glockenspiel on “Pure Narcotic”
Colin Edwin – bass guitar, double bass on “Stop Swimming”
Chris Maitland – drums, percussion, backing vocals on “Stranger By The Minute”
Theo Travis – Flute on “Tinto Brass” and “Don’t Hate Me”, Saxophone on “Don’t Hate Me”
East of England Orchestra – Strings (conducted by Nicholas Kok)
Produced by Steven Wilson
Recorded by Elliot Ness & Chris Thorpe
Mixed by Dominique Brethes