Back To News

Steven Wilson’s 2016 New Year Update

1st January 2016

Happy new year to everyone and best wishes for a productive and above all peaceful 2016!

On a personal note thank you to everyone that took the time to listen to Hand. Cannot. Erase. and came along to the shows. I really hope you enjoyed the album, but even if you didn’t thanks for taking the time to check it out anyway, and there’s usually something else just around the corner. In this case that “something else” is a new 37 minute mini-album released on 22nd January called “4 ½”, which rounds up some songs that were written over the last few years, but that I couldn’t fit into the last two albums. Nevertheless I’m very proud of these songs, so it’s great to have finished them off properly and to give them their moment. The album will be released on CD, vinyl, and high resolution blu-ray.

The first half of 2016 will be dedicated to a busy touring schedule, with a revamped show, including many countries I’ve not visited before as a solo artist. I’m happy to say that many shows are close to selling out, so be sure to book tickets now to avoid disappointment. For more information about the tour and where to buy tickets, click here.

Also a reminder that if you haven’t already you can subscribe to the recently introduced official SW newsletter, which includes a lot of exclusive content. The first 2 editions carried a 2 part interview about 4 ½, and the next one due later this month will have an extensive update on my work remixing classic albums. The December newsletter also included my own list of favourite albums of 2015, but if you missed it they are also listed below (in no particular order). You can sign up for future newsletters here.

Max Richter – Sleep
Kreng – The Summoner
Julia Holter – Have You In My Wilderness
Foals – What Went Down
36 – Void Dance
Sunn O))) – Kannon
Vatican Shadow – Death in Unity With God
Gaz Coombes – Matador
AFX – Orphaned Deejay Selek 2006-08
Magma – Slag Tanz

And some highly recommended albums by friends:

Tim Bowness – Stupid Things That Mean the World
Gavin Harrison – Cheating the Polygraph
Riverside – Love, Fear and the Time Machine
Lonely Robot – Please Come Home